Bloom Where you are Planted

For whatever reason, this has been a wall hanging in all of the places I moved since childhood. I never realized why my mom hung onto that old thing, but when I think about it now I understand it. It incorporates this “adaptation” theme for me, that wherever I end up, I am to make the most of it by “blooming”. In many ways I feel like a reincarnated seed. I am planted in one place, flourish and then when new seeds are released, I am manifested in them and am planted in a new place and flourish there too. I am not saying I am planted as widely as others, but I believe in always creating positive impressions wherever one goes, even if it is for just a short period of time.

Sometimes, I wonder what I am missing out on with my nomad lifestyle and mentality. In a world where your passport defines you (at least when you leave your home country), is it possible to really just be a “citizen of the world”? Borders across lifestyle, race, gender, and nationality are constantly redefined, so is it easy to say that I just belong to one place? I mean, even my ancestors were merchants, hence, they were always going to new places where there was opportunity. I really do not know, but what I do know is that no matter where I have travelled to, I am always learning something new. I am always somehow amazed, and perhaps that’s why I keep having the thirst to see more. It is not even about any sort of conquest to learn everything, or even enrichment that helps me “understand myself” better. I could read all of the books possible, watch all the T.V. shows and documentaries out there, but they can never compare. They can never capture such beauty (both with its perfections and imperfections). I think it is, in the end, about a genuine love for the wanderlust state. And that’s it. Nothing more, nothing less. No reason to feel ashamed of it and no reason to justify it.

I know it is silly to overanalyze a silly wall hanging with a quote on it, but I never really paid attention to it before. Now, it speaks so loudly to me that I can never forget it.

Leave a Reply

