Mexico, how did we never meet? Parte Dos: The D.F. & Guanjauato

True Story.
True Story.

I know I’m writing this post way later since my Mexico trip back in October 2015, but don’t they say that when we take all these photos, the chances of us going through them are very low?  Well, I am putting that to the test and finishing this blog post.  I promised a part 2 of my trip from October.  That part 2 stayed in my drafts, so I decided to finish it up.  Now that I’ve moved across the ocean again to South Asia, re-looking at this trip feels so different. Life is now back in the grind and is ready to move at a thousand miles.  I am excited about it, but yet another opportunity to slow down is something I relish.

Many people are usually either overwhelmed by or deeply in love with big cities.  I tend to be a faint heart in between.  The love points of a big city are the following:  some level of anonymity, different types of people, things to do constantly, and keeping a foot in a culture that strokes my pseudo-intellectual snob side.  At the same time big cities can also mean being so far removed from the rest of the country and people in which the city is located, feeling like a small fish in a big pond, cranky commuters, and long lines for everything “cool”.

Then, there are the small places.  The ones that present so much charm and potential because of their very sweet people and appreciation for all things local.  I talked about Morelia in my last post because I had a quick weekend there with a friend. I decided, therefore, to visit another small city in Central Mexico, Guanajuato, but for more time.  I also decided that since things were more laid back and there was not this looming pressure to see 50,000 museums, I could spend a week learning some basic Spanish.

I figured I would do something a bit more interesting in my two and a half weeks: visit one big city and one small city in Mexico.

Mexico City

I have lived in two big cities now since I left Texas: New Delhi and Washington D.C.  Both make me feel confident in visiting other big cities now, which is what I decided to do on this trip so that when I go back it’s all about the off-beat towns. It was, well, HUGE.  I mostly took the metro everywhere I went as I was staying down South near Universidad Metro.  Let’s just say this trip was consumed by two major things: museums, tons of walking, a small detour to Teotihuacan, tons of food, and actually appreciating a selfie stick when you are a lone traveler!  I’ll let photos speak below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And at the end of it all, I left Mexico City realizing how small of a world it is when I saw an Argentinian band I got to see in DC.  And yes, huge hipster scene too!  I’m a fan – they’re named Panda Elliott.

Guanajuato

I spent a week in Guanjuato with Escuela Falcon.  I highly recommend it.  Awesome staff, great courses tailored to you and the level you want to be at.  I was in the city during the Cervantino Festival.  Now, I’ll admit, about 7 to 8 years ago music  festivals tickled me a lot.  Now, they sometimes feel a little like a shitshow, but I still love the energy and deeply admire it. Nevertheless, the city has a beautiful charm, and I wouldn’t have picked a better place to relax, learn some Spanish, and really spend some me time in addition to meeting new people.

20151020_143038
View from one of the stairways to my Escuela Falcon class. Yay times.

But one of my favorite parts was my host family, which I really lucked out on!  The day that after I arrived in Guanajuato after staying in a pretty dingy hostel the night before – we went up higher in the hills to spend time with my host family.  It was awesome!  Cooking of meats, hills, fireplace, and tons of full out immersion into Spanish!  It was crazy because I was told my accent was a bit strange, but it somehow fit really well too.  Not entirely gringo, but incorporating my Urdu rolling.  This made me happy!

The rest is just little bits of sightseeing I did.  Enjoy!

To getting laid off, funemployment, and REALLY slowing down.  This was the best way to spend the month of October before heading back into adult land and picking up the pieces of figuring out my career.

 

Leave a Reply

